National Ringette League announces annual award nominees

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island – April 8, 2019 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today announced the nominees for its annual awards program. The awards program recognizes the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play with trophies for Rookie of the Year, Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Top Centre, Top Defense, and Top Goalkeeper. These awards, along with awards for Coaching Staff of the Year, NRL Top Scorer and NRL Scoring Championwill be announced during the NRL Championship tournament awards ceremony being held on April 13, 2019 in Charlottetown. The NRL Championship tournament is part of 2019 Credit Union Canadian Ringette Championships.

Nominees for the NRL awards include the following:

Rookie of the Year (the most outstanding player in her first year of NRL competition)
Megan Riou – Edmonton WAM!
Sara Plouffe – Gatineau Fusion
Maddie MacLean – Waterloo Wildfire

Most Valuable Player (the player judged to be the most valuable to her team)
Sarah MacDonald – BC Thunder
Kelsey Youldon – Waterloo Wildfire
Julie Blanchette – Montreal Mission

Top Centre (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the centre position)
Dailyn Bell – Edmonton WAM!
Kelsey Youldon – Waterloo Wildfire
Kaitlyn Youldon- Gatineau Fusion

Top Forward (the most outstanding player that played predominantly forward position)
Dani Holliday – Edmonton WAM!
Martine Caissie – Atlantic Attack
Allison Biewald – Gatineau Fusion

Top Defense (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the defense position)
Rachel Grant – Calgary RATH
Erica Voss – Richmond Hill Lightning
Christianne Varty – Waterloo Wildfire

Top Goalkeeper (the most outstanding goalkeeper)
Brea Beck – Calgary RATH
Karine Doiron – Atlantic Attack
Laurie St-Pierre – Rive Sud Revolution

Coaching Staff of the Year (the most outstanding coaching staff group of the year, this award is voted on by the teams)
Calgary RATH
Rive Sud Revolution
Waterloo Wildfire

About the National Ringette League
The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The league has 14 teams participating in two conferences – a Western Conference with five teams and an Eastern Conference with nine teams. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes, and achieve positive financial results at both a league and team level. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at


For more information, please contact:
Alayne Martell
Media and PR – Ringette Canada/National Ringette League
Office: 613-748-5655, ext. 226
Cell: 902-308-1067

Provincial Associations