2024 NRL Award Winners & Finalists

Dieppe, NB– The NRL awards recognize the performance of NRL athletes during the 2023-2024 season with trophies for  Rookie of the Year, Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Top Centre, Top Defense, and Top Goalkeeper. These awards along with awards for Coaching Staff of the Year, NRL Top Scorer, NRL Scoring Champion and NRL Volunteer of the Year were announced at the CRC closing banquet in April 2024.


Nominees and winners for the NRL awards include the following:

Rookie of the Year (the most outstanding athlete in their first year of NRL competition) 

    • Kate Babineau – Waterloo Wildfire
    • Avery Kew – Edmonton Black Gold Rush
    • Paige Roy – Calgary RATH
  • WINNER: Annie Trudel – Montreal Mission

Most Valuable Player (the athlete judged to be the most valuable to their team) 

    • Julie Blanchette – Montreal Mission
    • Emily Chénier – Gatineau Fusion
    • Sarah Macdonald – BC Thunder
  • WINNER: Kaitlyn Youldon – Calgary RATH

Top Centre (the most outstanding athlete that played predominantly the centre position)

    • Danielle Bechard – Edmonton Black Gold Rush
    • Emily Chénier – Gatineau Fusion
    • Kelsey Youldon – Waterloo Wildfire
  • WINNER: Gillian Dreger – Edmonton WAM!

Top Forward (the most outstanding athlete that played predominantly forward position) 

    • Sidney Crowe – BC Thunder
    • Lauren Henderson – Edmonton WAM!
    • Britney Snowdon – Atlantic Attack
  • WINNER: Megane Fortin – Montreal Mission

Top Defense (the most outstanding athlete that played predominantly the defense position)

    • Jackie Gaudet – Waterloo Wildfire
    • Jennica Murray – Calgary RATH
    • Julie Vandal – Gatineau Fusion
  • WINNER: Melissa Misutka – Edmonton WAM!

Top Goalkeeper (the most outstanding goalkeeper)

    • Gabrielle Ednie – Gatineau Fusion
    • Paige Roy – Calgary RATH
    • Laurie St.Pierre – Rive-Sud Revolution
  • WINNER: Sarah Macdonald – BC Thunder

Team Personnel of the Year (the most outstanding coaching staff group of the year, this award is voted on by the teams)

    • BC Thunder
    • Waterloo Wildfire
  • WINNER: Calgary RATH

Volunteer of the Year

Candace Ketsa – Edmonton WAM!

NRL Scoring Champion 

Britney Snowdon – Atlantic Attack

NRL Top Scorer 

Jenny Snowdon – Atlantic Attack

About the National Ringette League
The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at www.nationalringetteleague.ca.

Territory acknowledgement

While we are a proud Canadian organization, we acknowledge that our head office is located on traditional unceded territory of the Algonquin Anishnaabeg People, and is now home to many diverse First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. Ringette Canada extends our respect to all First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples for their valuable contributions to this land. We are committed to moving forward in the spirit of reconciliation and collaboration.

Stay in the know

Join our newsletter to receive updates on ringette games, news and blogs.

Contact Us


c/o House of Sport, RA Centre
2451 Riverside Drive
Ottawa, ON K1H 7X7

© 2024 Ringette Canada | Branding and Website design by Xactly Design & Advertising | Privacy Policy | Website Disclaimer