National Ringette League 2018-2019 season starts Saturday, league launches Operations Council

Ottawa, Ontario – September 27, 2018– The National Ringette League (NRL), the showcase league for ringette in Canada, will begin its 2018-2019 season on Saturday, with Calgary RATH, Edmonton WAM! and Edmonton Black Gold Rush hitting the ice this  weekend. These games will kick off a season that will see 14 teams from across the country battle it out for the NRL championship title. Atlantic Attack currently hold the title after beating Edmonton WAM! 5-3 at the NRL Championship in Winnipeg this past April.

The league has also established a NRL Operations Council (NRLOC), which will oversee the operations of the 2018-2019 season as set out in the league’s operations manual. The 2018-2019 NRLOC will be comprised of the following individuals:
Western Division representative: Chris Wakefield, BC Thunder
Red Division representative: Sean Taylor, Cambridge Turbos
White Division representative: Roland Cormier, Atlantic Attack
Athlete representative: Shaundra Bruvall, Calgary RATH
NRL Director of Officials: Chris Faulds

The league has also hired three contractors to assist with league operations. Glen Gaudet (Cambridge, ON) will act as the NRL schedule coordinator; Mary Dupuis (Whitby, ON) will act as the NRL statistics and internal communications coordinator and the NRL contracts coordinator; and Chris Faulds (Waterloo, ON) will act as the NRL director of officials.

“We are excited to get the 2018-2019 season underway and we believe that the National Ringette League Operations Council is a positive step forward for our league,” said Steph Laurin, Manager, High Performance and Athlete Services, Ringette Canada. “The Council will be instrumental in streamlining the operations of the league, while also providing valuable regional input from our teams.”

The 2018-2019 season will see five teams competing in the Western Conference – BC Thunder, Calgary RATH, Edmonton Black Gold Rush, Edmonton WAM! and Manitoba Intact, and 9 teams competing in the Eastern Conference – Red Division: Cambridge Turbos, Gatineau Fusion, Ottawa Ice, Richmond Hill Lightning and Waterloo Wildfire; and White Division: Atlantic Attack, Le Royal de Bourassa, Montreal Mission and Rive Sud Revolution.

Full details on the full season schedule and team rosters and stats can be found at

About the National Ringette League
The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The league, which officially launched in 2004, has 14 teams participating in two conferences – a Western Conference with five teams and an Eastern Conference with nine teams. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes, and achieve positive financial results at both a league and team level. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at


For more information, please contact:
Alayne Martell
Media and PR – Ringette Canada/National Ringette League
Office: 613-748-5655, ext. 226
Cell: 902-308-1067

Tags: , ,

Territory acknowledgement

While we are a proud Canadian organization, we acknowledge that our head office is located on traditional unceded territory of the Algonquin Anishnaabeg People, and is now home to many diverse First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. Ringette Canada extends our respect to all First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples for their valuable contributions to this land. We are committed to moving forward in the spirit of reconciliation and collaboration.

Stay in the know

Join our newsletter to receive updates on ringette games, news and blogs.

Contact Us


c/o House of Sport, RA Centre
2451 Riverside Drive
Ottawa, ON K1H 7X7

© 2024 Ringette Canada | Branding and Website design by Xactly Design & Advertising | Privacy Policy | Website Disclaimer