National Ringette League announces annual award nominees

Ottawa, Ontario – April 3, 2020 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today announced the nominees for its annual awards program. The awards program recognizes the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play with trophies for Rookie of the Year, Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Top Centre, Top Defense, and Top Goalkeeper. These awards, along with awards for Coaching Staff of the Year, NRL Top Scorer and NRL Scoring Champion will be announced on April 11, 2020.

Nominees for the NRL awards include the following:

Rookie of the Year (the most outstanding player in her first year of NRL competition)
Taylor Hildebrand – Manitoba Intact
Emily Power – Waterloo Wildfire
Ariane Sagala – Rive Sud Revolution

Most Valuable Player (the player judged to be the most valuable to her team)
Julie Blanchette – Montreal Mission
Shaundra Bruvall – Calgary RATH
Britney Snowdon – Atlantic Attack

Top Centre (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the centre position)
Justine Exner – Calgary RATH
Jenny Snowdon – Atlantic Attack
Kelsey Youldon – Waterloo Wildfire

Top Forward (the most outstanding player that played predominantly forward position)
Jamie Bell – Edmonton WAM!
Erika Kiviaho – Waterloo Wildfire
Britney Snowdon – Atlantic Attack

Top Defense (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the defense position)
Melissa Misutka – Edmonton WAM!
Julie Vandal – Gatineau Fusion
Christianne Varty – Waterloo Wildfire

Top Goalkeeper (the most outstanding goalkeeper)
Brea Beck – Calgary RATH
Karine Doiron – Gatineau Fusion
Jasmine Leblanc – Ottawa Ice
Laurie St-Pierre – Rive Sud Revolution

Team Personnel of the Year (the most outstanding coaching staff group of the year, this award is voted on by the teams)
BC Thunder
Cambridge Turbos
Calgary RATH

About the National Ringette League
The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The league has 13 teams participating in two conferences – a Western Conference with five teams and an Eastern Conference with eight teams. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes, and achieve positive financial results at both a league and team level. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at


Territory acknowledgement

While we are a proud Canadian organization, we acknowledge that our head office is located on traditional unceded territory of the Algonquin Anishnaabeg People, and is now home to many diverse First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. Ringette Canada extends our respect to all First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples for their valuable contributions to this land. We are committed to moving forward in the spirit of reconciliation and collaboration.

Stay in the know

Join our newsletter to receive updates on ringette games, news and blogs.

Contact Us


c/o House of Sport, RA Centre
2451 Riverside Drive
Ottawa, ON K1H 7X7

© 2024 Ringette Canada | Branding and Website design by Xactly Design & Advertising | Privacy Policy | Website Disclaimer